Work AND Play

logo_instagram_follow_color.png

We all admittedly spend a significant amount of our free time checking social media. And many of us even procrastinate on work or an assignment in favor of checking Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. I am particularly guilty of spending a large part of my day on Instagram. It’s the first thing I do in the morning and the last thing I do at night. It is by far my favorite social media, not only does it let me stay connected to friends; it also helps me discover many new and exciting brands, companies, and bloggers.

I actually just got my current job through Instagram. I started following Brand XYZ*, a brand sold at several boutiques I frequent, on Instagram months ago. One day I noticed a post from them saying they were hiring, and although I had no idea what the position would be, I emailed them anyway. I still didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I went to the interview, but I immediately fell in love with the company and I have loved every single day at work.

Which brings me to the point that if we are spending so much of our time on social media, so should brands and businesses. Social media allows brands to develop a personality and allow people to develop relationships with brands. In other words, brands can advertise and reach customers in a space they seek out and spend a lot of time on. Customers see advertisements and do not even realize it, and because of this they absorb the content like crazy.

I am a firm believer that social media, particularly Instagram, is an invaluable resource to brands today. Although I discovered my current job though the company’s Instagram, they do not utilize it nearly as much as they should. Although they are successful, I know how much more successful they could be if they capitalized on all of the resources available.

Once you consider this perspective spending tons of time on Instagram starts to seem a lot more like work and less like play. Suddenly people aren’t wasting time – they are forming connections and promoting their brand. But this wouldn’t have been possible if people weren’t spending their time on social sites.

xo, Emma

*Real name isn’t used to preserve privacy.

Leave a Reply

