Mid-Generation Gap

Look – it’s a media-related blog post on Super Bowl Sunday that’s not about commercials!

Truth be told the Super Bowl has just begun, so I can’t possibly write until I’ve seen all of them… so that coverage will come tomorrow.

Acronym-IQ-Infographic

In the mean time I’d like to write about something that I’ve been noticing lately. It seems to me that there isn’t just a generation gap these days, there is a gap in the middle of this current generation. This is something I’ve come to notice from being with my boyfriend, who is a few years older than me. The more time I spend with him and  people who are a few years younger than me, like my sister, the more this difference becomes obvious.

Social media has become increasingly popular in the past couple of years, and I think that has caused a gap in people in their early-to-mid twenties and younger, and people in their mid-to-late twenties and older. My boyfriend will tease me and my friends about talking in acronyms, something that I commonly hear my sister and her friends do and other people I am in college with. But this is something I never hear when I hang out with his friends.

There isn’t that much difference in age, but there is a huge difference in dialect that has been influenced by social media. Which is just fascinating to me. It isn’t weird for me and my friends to actually say “LOL” before we laugh about something when we’re together, but when I do this in front of my boyfriend he thinks it is the strangest thing.

Acronym_Mouth_Post_iStock

It’s something that I have been gradually realizing and it is just so fascinating that there can be such a big difference in people that are just a few years apart. This is just another example of how powerful the growth and expansion of the Internet has been. It has truly changed people’s lives, and this influence will only grow with future generations.

xo, Emma

Leave a Reply

