Bashin’ Fashion

Late last night I was helping my roommate dye her hair and I showed her a picture of a blogger’s hair that I thought would look good on her. I then got sucked into the black hole and ended up stalking her on Instagram back to her college days. The funny thing is, they weren’t as far away as I thought, which raised a lot of questions for me because she lives an extravagant lifestyle now and she nor her husband seemed to work other than for her blog – which is successful and all but still, it’s just a blog. Things just didn’t seem to add up to me, how can one get engaged while still in college with a huge engagement ring and then blog full-time and afford to be constantly taking vacations and buying extremely expensive clothing. I swear she never wears the same thing twice and any one thing she wears on a daily basis would be a once-in-a-lifetime splurge for most people.

I was hooked and immediately went to Google to see what dirt I could dig up. And boy, did I hit the jackpot. I came across the website GOMI – Get Off My Internets – which is basically an online community full of different forums about different types of bloggers. It is mostly a place for people to do a little (okay, a lot) of shi*t talking about bloggers and to try to figure them out.

I quickly discovered that my intuition was right, this girl is by no means living an average life. Her husband’s family started the company that m3akes Duraflame logs and other wood products so they are loaded.

Even though I know that people’s finances are a very private matter, something really rubbed me the wrong way once I put together that she is basically making (somewhat) of a living off of spending her husband’s family’s money.

She put’s herself in the spotlight and it suddenly seemed disingenuous that she was just trying to come off as normal and a real person. Less than one percent of people will ever be able to live this kind of lifestyle, so why is it something that should be aspired too? This is completely a fairytale, yet so many will continue to follow her and feel dissatisfied or unaccomplished because their life isn’t as glamorous. When in reality this is an isolated case – her situation is the exception, not the rule.

It is so easy to let people’s live on the Internet and social media make your own seem sub-par when we don’t even know these people in real life. We only see what they want us to see, not the complete truth, and we shouldn’t let their ‘perfect’ lives make us feel dissatisfied about our own.

So if you ever want to get the real scoop on these ‘perfect’ people you see all over the Internet I would highly recommend checking out this website, it’ll help put things in perspective.

Emma vanBree

Leave a Reply

