Insta-Update

I’ve seen some buzz on Instagram last night and today about a new feature that Instagram has rolled out where you can supposedly sign up for push notifications from your favorite accounts so you never miss a post.

As TechCrunch mentioned, this is good because:

1. You get alerted when content you really care about is posted.

2. It helps you keep track of your favorite content as you follow more people.

3. It’ll be a good feature once Apple Watch rolls out.

While it is cool that you can get notifications from people you absolutely don’t want to miss, part of what I like about Instagram is that it is always a surprise when I check it, I never know what I am going to find and who will have posted. I’ve turned off all my Instagram notifications so I only see new updates and notifications when I get on the app. I spend so much time on the app already I don’t really want more notifications when I’m not on the app.

Another thing that is a little concerning about this update is what it means for the future of Instagram, mostly if they will start using some kind of algorithm in their feed which will change the way users see content. I can understand that Instagram can get overwhelming if you follow a lot of people – I follow 1,244 people – but it is a little concerning about what this means for the future of the app. What I like about Instagram is that it is just people’s content in the order it is posted, and I don’t want that to change.

Leave a Reply

